// issue 18 2011: Trans

The Fibreculture Journal is a peer reviewed international journal that explores the issues and ideas of concern and interest to both the Fibreculture network and wider social formations. The journal encourages critical and speculative interventions in the debate and discussions concerning information and communication technologies and their policy frameworks, network cultures and their informational logic, new media forms and their deployment, and the possibilities of socio-technical invention and sustainability. Other broad topics of interest include the cultural contexts, philosophy and politics of:

:: information and creative industries
:: national and international strategies for innovation, research and development
:: education
:: media and culture, and
:: new media arts

The Fibreculture Journal encourages submissions that extend research into critical and investigative networked theories, knowledges and practices.

The Fibreculture Journal values academic scholarship in the field, and demonstrates this through the publication of refereed articles. However, the journal also wishes to expand notions of scholarship to include artistic interventions in the field by featuring collaborative hypertexts, database compositions, and low-band electronic installations that experiment with the philosophy, politics and culture of information and communication technolgies.

ISSN: 1449 – 1443
Published in Australia
Publisher: Fibreculture Publications/Open Humanities Press
The journal is peer reviewed as per section 4.3.4 of the HERDC Specifications.


Andrew Murphie (University of New South Wales, Sydney)

journal manager

Lisa Gye (Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne)

editorial and management committee

Susan Ballard (Otago Polytechnic, Dunedin, New Zealand)
Chris Chesher (University of Sydney)
Alice Crawford (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
Michael Dieter (University of Melbourne)
Kelli Fuery (Newcastle University, Australia)
Gillian Fuller (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
Gary Genosko (Lakehead University, Canada)
Thomas Markussen (Kolding Design School, Denmark)
Lizzie Muller (University of Technology, Sydney)
Anna Munster (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
Elena Razlogova (Concordia University, Montréal)
Ingrid Richardson (Murdoch University, Perth)
Kate Southworth (iRes Centre for Research in Interactive Art and Design, University College, Falmouth, UK)
Mat Wall-Smith (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
Mitchell Whitelaw (Canberra University)

editorial board

Belinda Barnet (Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne)
Sandra Buckley (Management Consultant and Independent Scholar, Montréal)
Danny Butt (National Institute of Creative Arts and Industries, University of Auckland)
Linda Carroli (Harbinger Consulting, Australian Network for Art and Technology)
Felicity Colman (University of Melbourne)
Melinda Cooper (University of Sydney)
Kate Crawford (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
Sean Cubitt (University of Melbourne)
Michael Dahan (Ben Gurion University of the Negev)
Sher Doruff (Amsterdam School of the Arts)
Pia Ednie-Brown (RMIT, Melbourne)
Mary Flanagan (Hunter College, New York)
Terry Flew (Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane)
Phil Graham (Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane)
Melissa Gregg (University of Queensland, Brisbane)
Ross Harley (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
Maren Hartmann (University of the Arts, Berlin)
Robert Hassan (Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne)
Larissa Hjorth (RMIT, Melbourne)
Teri Hoskin (Artist/electronic writing research ensemble. Adelaide)
Troels Degn Johansson (Danish Design School, Copenhagen)
Paul Jones (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
Andrew Kenyon (University of Melbourne)
Julian Kucklich (Saarbrücken)
Elaine Lally (University of Western Sydney)
Geert Lovink (University of Amsterdam)
Adrian Mackenzie (Lancaster University)
Lev Manovich (University of California, San Diego)
Graham Meikle (Macquarie University, Sydney/Stirling University, Scotland)
Adrian Miles (RMIT, Melbourne)
Catherine Mills (University of Sydney)
Esther Milne (Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne)
Timothy Murray (Cornell University, New York)
Brett Neilson (University of Western Sydney)
Jussi Parikka (Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge)
Andy Polaine (interactive media consultant, Offenberg/University of New South Wales, Sydney)
John Potts (Macquarie University, Sydney)
Melinda Rackham (Australian Network for Art and Technology)
Philip Roe (Central Queensland University, Bundaberg)
Ned Rossiter (Independent researcher, Beijing)
John Scannell (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
Sha Xin Wei (Concordia University, Montréal)
John Sutton (Macquarie University, Sydney)
Tiziana Terranova (Università di Napoli L’Orientale’, Italy)
David Teh (Curator/Bangkok)
Darren Tofts (Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne)
Gregory L. Ulmer (University of Florida)
José van Dijck (University of Amsterdam)
Jill Walker (University of Bergen)
Shujen Wang (Emerson College, Boston)